Skip to main content

About Bridgehaven MHS

Successful Outcomes


Decrease in hospital days per year


Community healthcare costs saved


Reductions in incarcerations


Reduction of hospitalizations over 18 years


Bridgehaven provides the highest quality community based psychiatric rehabilitation and recovery services, education, and support to those living with mental illness. In 1955-56 The Louisville Section of the National Council of Jewish Women studied mental health needs in Kentucky. 

They identified a need for programs to help ease the transition from mental hospitals back to community participation. Bridgehaven was founded in 1958 as a result of this study, the first community program in Jefferson County, and only the third of its type nationally to serve people with psychiatric problems outside a hospital setting.

A history of care in Jefferson County

An old Bridgehaven flyer postcard design
A black and white photograph of three women in long coats walking through a park
Four Bridgehaven members preparing food in a kitchen
A speaker at a podium with a bridgehaven sign behind her and several people in business attire on the stage
A black and white photograph of 8 different bridgehaven members meeting at a table
A training session in a classroom with 12 people listening to a woman in a blue dress.

Our Executive Board

Steve Lun
Steve Lun
Vice President, PNC Bank


Barbara Dwyer headshot
Barbara Dwyer
System Director, Norton Healthcare


Rebecca Martin headshot
Rebecca Martin
Chief Legal Officer,  Tungco Corp

Vice Chair

Jim Allsop headshot
Jim Allsop
Crisis Mgmt  Director


Brandy Arsenault headshot
Brandy Arsenault 
Vice President, Baird Trust


Board Members

Lee Cochran

Emeritus Member

Mollie Smith

Member at Large

Don Kupper

Member at Large

Gary Bensing

Member at Large

Scott Gloeckler

Member at Large

Wes Gersh

Member at Large

Keia Briscoe AA,CPRS

Member at Large

Brandy Arsenault

Member at Large

Sarah Acland

Emeritus Member

Landon Nguyen

Member at Larger

Eileen Estes

Member at Large

Justin Laswell

Member at Large

Jay Mallory

Member at Large

Lindsay K. Scott

Member at Large

Lizabeth Nackson

Member at Large

Reńe Strause

Member at Large

Joann C. Wray DNP, MBA, RN, NE-BC

Member at Large

Our members are something special